Severed Heads - Clifford Darling, Please Don't Live in the Past [2 x LP]

From Allmusic.com : "This double LP, a collection of the earliest Severed Heads recordings from 1979 to 1983, shows them at their most experimental, using a heavy dose of electronics, tape loops, and effects and aligning themselves closely to early industrial groups like Throbbing Gristle and especially Cabaret Voltaire. There are prototypical electro-pop pieces like "Day in the Country," "Power Circles," and "J. Edgar Hoover," with primitive rhythm machine beats and cut-up spoken word that hint at later albums, as well as odd tape cut ups like "Advertisement," collage works, and some industrial noise works, including "Nightsong" and the irritating "Dance," which consists of migraine-inducing distorted synth tones repeated over and over. Fortunately, most of the other material is far more interesting than "Dance." The above-mentioned "Power Circles" evokes a certain old European elegance, while "Saturday Night" chops up an old Judy Garland-type song into a piece of wonderful looped plunderphonics that seamlessly segues into "Man Dat Hip," with more wild looping of pre-World War II jazz music. These tracks set the tone as the rest of side three continues with a further collage of loops of everything from various world musics to found-sound spoken word. Side four strays further into experimental realms with an early take on Since the Accident's "A Relic of the Empire," as well as "Tiny Fingers," where an ambient texture is created from tinkly keyboard notes, and the warped turntable collage of "Play It Again." Though grittier and more lo-fi than the later stuff, Clifford Darling has some of the Severed Heads' most creative work."

Side A :
01. Advertisement
02. Prototype Pop
03. Exiles Excerpt
04. A Day In The Country
05. Elephant Decibels
06. Power Circles

Side B :
01. Alaskan Polar Bear Heater
02. Umbrella
03. J. Edgar Hoover
04. Blame
05. Meanwhile, Back At Exiles...
06. Dance

Side C :
01. Saturday Night
02. Man Dat Hip
03. An American In Paris
04. Tarzan's Grip
05. That That Revolves
06. Special Day

Side D :
01. Malt Duck
02. Never Fall In Love
03. Nazi Beach Party
04. A Relic Of The Empire No. 2
05. Tiny Fingers
06. Sydney Quads & The Megascope Space Probe
07. Play It Again
08. Carry My Books
09. Nightsong
10. Car Ad

"Clifford Darling, Please Don't Live in the Past" was released by Ink Records in 1985.

Get it here : Severed Heads - Clifford Darling, Please Don't Live in the Past

No comments:

Post a Comment