Fällt Directions 2001

From www.fallt.com : "The 'Directions' Series provides an overview of work by selected Fällt artists - both from forthcoming releases and works in progress. Each release consists of four artists contributing three tracks each and features artwork by Fällt designers Fehler printed on transparent offset-litho film.

In late 2000 the URL for a series of MP3s was forwarded to us via an anonymous remailer by an artist working under the name 'Ted Sulkowicz'. We could find no reference to Sulkowicz or his 'Hotel California'-sampled 'Kid_Newtown' (released on Fällt digital sub-label Fodder) anywhere.

Who is the mysterious Mr Sulkowicz? Rumours abound, including one: that it is none other than Australian prankster Pimmon. Whoever, whatever; responses to the first Fodder release have been overwhelmingly positive. You listen, you decide.

Since 1998 Mathieu’s work has focussed on the digital processing of acoustic events, a process he describes as: "extracting sounds from homoeopathic vibrations at their source." The results of these explorations have been nothing short of startling with incredibly focussed tracks which retain the essence of the works they sample while sounding nothing like them.

'Frequency Lib.' is the culmination of this process and includes digital extracts of work by, amongst others: Jimi Hendrix, The Beatles, Kiss, Fats Waller, Hot Chocolate, Queen, Kraftwerk, The BeeGees, Captain Beefheart, The Beach Boys and Elvis Presley.

Warm analog dustscapes by former New Zealand based musician Aut. "All source material has been retrieved from the detritus of vinyl LPs and 7" singles collected over the years. The material itself ranges from discarded rock records and musical soundtracks to more 'serious' music including contemporary avant-garde improvisation and drone recordings."

Digital processing has rendered much of the original material unidentifiable, however due to the nature of these fragments, they may be recalled by some listeners. "Offcuts from surrendered vinyl."

'Directions 2001' closes with three sketches from Pimmon, the second of which 'Yemdatem' was subsequently featured on Pimmon's first release on Tigerbeat6 'Electronic Tax Return'."

Tracklisting :
01. Ted Sulkowicz - Kid_Newtown
02. Ted Sulkowicz - Kolc
03. Ted Sulkowicz - Black Dot
04. Stephan Mathieu - Clear Spot
05. Stephan Mathieu - Right Place
06. Stephan Mathieu - The Stomach Room
07. Aut - Soundtype
08. Aut - Home
09. Aut - Sero
10. Pimmon - Horizonalite
11. Pimmon - Yemdatem
12. Pimmon - Take The Piano Skin To Knowledge

"Directions 2001" was released by Fällt in 2001.

Get it here : Fällt Directions 2001

No comments:

Post a Comment